Iggy Azalea Details Her Musical Journey with Dazed Digital

Iggy Azalea recently sat down with Dazed Digital to discuss her musical journey, including being teased, landing in Miami during her first stay in the States, and more.

Check out excerpts from the interview below:

On being teased for listening to rap:

“Everybody would laugh at me and be like, ‘You want to be American,’ and I’m like, ‘I don’t want to be American. I’m Australian but I like this stuff. I was always outcast and didn’t have many friends, but once I connected with rap I just went for it super hard.”

On connecting with Sudanese refugees through rap:

“Lismore had a refugee program, and all the people from Sudan liked hip hop and I liked hip hop, so we would all be at the cipher zone.  That’s where they play a beat, and then everybody’s standing around and it’s like, I say my rap, and you have to say your rap.”

On landing in Miami during her first stay in the United States:

“I just used to sit out by the pool at my apartment, me and all these guys who were probably selling drugs, and we would just rap all day long.”

Read the entire article here.

Feed Me Your Thoughts