Nitty Scott, MC Talks Challenges of Being in the Music Industry, Working with Kendrick Lamar, and More

Nitty Scott, MC recently sat down with the folks over at HipHopDX to discuss the challenges she faces as an artist and a woman in the music industry, working with Kendrick Lamar on “The Flower Child,” not dissing other emcees, and more.  Read of couple of excerpts from the interview below.

HipHopDX: Do you ever feel frustrated that you have to work harder just to be able to be respected as a young woman and as a young artist?

Nitty Scott, MC: Yeah, I mean I think a lot of artists that are on my level and trying to do the same thing as me can all relate to that feeling of just being frustrated and just seeing these obvious, obvious, obvious publicity cop outs essentially. I see it happen all the time whether it be a cosign, whether it be some controversial statement or some “fly” video, whatever the case may be, you see artists getting put on for the most ridiculous reasons nowadays. But you can’t dwell on what you don’t like, you can’t dwell on what’s okay cause it’s essentially a waste of time and energy so I just focus on my movement, I focus on my culture and what I’m bringing to the situation and I’ve kind of just flipped the mentality to instead of “why me? Why do I have to carry this whole thing on my back and really take the long way up?” I’ve completely reversed that thought process to say, “Why not me?” So why not be the one to really, really change the scope of things or being a part of changing the scope of things by being willing to stay true to myself, to not bend for anybody and check or whatever the case may be and take the time to build and develop this organic buzz that I have. It’s all these things I feel are going to speak for me and just speak for themselves when I get to a certain level. And I was having this conversation with my manager the other day where as it’s happening, I feel that people don’t respect it as much as you’re grinding and as you’re building to break this barrier. You definitely have fans that are cheering you along the way but for the most part you don’t get that validation or that gratification until it actually happens. So until I make some kind of statement via numbers or maybe just having a longevity that some of the other emerging female artists won’t be able to have that’s when I expect people to acknowledge the hard work that I really put into this because there are so many things that we could do right now to up the popularity, to speed up the process but it’s like once you get to that point it’s all about maintaining that and I’m not here to have your average four to five year rap career and just kind of be ran into the ground until nobody wants to see my face anymore. That’s not really what we’re trying to accomplish. I want to have longevity, I want be one of these artists that can evolve literally through their art over years, over a very long amount of time and still be able to make timeless, impactful music that will affect people beyond this week’s Billboard charts and that’s what we’re all about.

HipHopDX: You dropped that “Flower Child” joint with Kendrick Lamar before the album came out and it was totally different from what I was expecting. I was expecting that classic Nitty, cypher chick feel coming from you on it and it was quite the contrary. You had Kendrick on the hook and you were a lot more personal. How did that all come together and did you feel any pressure as a newer artist with someone as big as Kendrick sharing this with you?

Nitty Scott, MC: The whole process of “Flower Child,” when I wrote it, I didn’t write it with Kendrick [Lamar] in mind or any particular feature or anything like that, “Flower Child” was just an outpour of emotion that I had towards my growing audience and the whole process of growth in the public eye and it was just something that was weighing heavily on my heart and I wrote it almost like a letter I feel to my supporters and to the people who are watching me and it’s sort of a message to them to let me experience my natural progression. So I had written the record and I wasn’t completely finished with it yet, I was still building on it, the parts that Kendrick actually ended up performing were missing and I knew that. I was like, “I need this record to be driven by a really dope hook.” I need a crazy breakdown, a crazy bridge for it. It was kind of just in limbo and I knew that the record was going to be part of the EP but it was still being built on. Then Kendrick had his first headlining performance in Brooklyn and I opened up for him and that was the day that we actually met and we were just kind of building backstage and talking about music and our music and ideals and things like that. I had been a fan before a lot of the looks that he’s been getting lately and I had always saw him as an artist that is very like-minded in just his philosophy and how he wants to contribute to the culture, I always felt that we were on the same page as far as that went. So I remember asking him that night like, “Yo would you want to participate or be down with the Boombox Diaries EP?” and he was like, “Definitely.” So we left it at that and it was like months later and it just kind of dawned upon me that I wanted to call the record “Flower Child” and there was just something about the beat and how mellow it was and it was just kind of hippyed out kind of approach to it. So I said, “Okay, cool, I’m gonna call this ‘Flower Child.’” Then the actual title led me to think of Kendrick and who better to put on the track…

HipHopDX: I heard you don’t do diss records. Come on, really? [Laughs] A hard body New York emcee with no beef? What’s the deal with that?

Nitty Scott, MC: [Laughs] you know it’s just about energy. I’m a very energy and vibe kind of person and we just don’t want any of that attached to us. I think it is very Hip Hop in the spirit of competition to drop beef records and diss records and I’m not even trying to say that people haven’t taken shots at me or people haven’t given me a reason to say certain things here and there but once again, I don’t want to create headlines because of the Twitter argument I got into. It’s just not my style and I’d rather you talk about what I’m contributing to this whole situation or talking about how dope that verse was. I’m not aiming for your pocket, I’m not aiming for you to shake your ass in a sense, I’m aiming for your heart. I just want to connect with people. My intentions are very pure and that’s why I really do steer away from the beef records and diss records and it’s really not about that. And everything is so subjective as well. I just feel ahead of the game in that way. It’s just so subjective like who’s the best emcee, who’s got the best bars, who’s doing it, who’s getting money and it’s all so subjective. My fans will think it’s me and your fans will think it’s you so I don’t really see any point in duking it out when at the end of the day I just want to create music and make a living off of it.

HipHopDX: Fair enough. I want to know though, when you began this Hip Hop journey, moving from Florida at a young age to the promise land of New York City, it’s still early but did you ever envision that this is how things were going to start to come to fruition?

Nitty Scott, MC: Um, yes and no. I would say that you have your own little fantasies of how everything will come together and how you’d like it to be and being a part of the industry and kind of working my way up for the past two years now, there’s been a lot of things that I completely expected and a lot of things that I completely not expected happening. So I think it’s a little bit of both, definitely a learning experience involved and sometimes you’re just like completely thrown off and sometimes you’re like, “Okay this is the part where this happens.” So I think it’s a little bit of both.

Read the entire interview here.

 

Feed Me Your Thoughts

