Snow Tha Product Discusses Upcoming Mixtape, Collaboration and More with AOL’s The Boombox

Snow Tha Product has been receiving a lot of exposure lately, especially with her recent signing to Atlantic Records.  In a recent interview with AOL’s The Boomtown, Snow discussed her past and current projects, collaborating with other artists, and more.  Check out excerpts of the interview below.

Fill us in on some of your past projects.

Unorthodox 0.5 is a snippet version. When you’re independent you really don’t make money off anything, and I haven’t really ever dropped albums or anything. I have a lot of fans, and I was like, “I’ll drop a free version for everybody, but if you like it, support me and buy the full version.” So that worked out really good because I found out how many people really support me, who were buying packages, wristbands, 2GB flash drives. It really boosted up my confidence in my music. Everyone will download tracks but not everybody will buy the mixtape. It was really good. So I did Unorthodox 0.5, andUnorthodox 1.0 is the full version.

What are you working on now?

Right now I’m working on Beauty and the Beast. It’s a mixtape I’m going to drop. Kind of doing a little bit more of what I’ve been doing on UnorthodoxRun Up or Shut Up, and all of my mixtapes before that. Basically having some more aggressive tracks and having some girly tracks. I never wanted to be pinpointed, “Oh, she’s lyrical that’s all she does,” “Oh, she’s aggressive that’s all she does.” I want people to know that I’m doing the pop stuff too. Beauty and the Beast right off the bat, you really know that that’s what it’s going to be. So working on that mixtape, and some of the tracks may be pushed onto an album.

Have you collaborated with any artists with a bigger name?

A lot of people have reached out to me way before everything. I went to Houston last night, I was with my manager and we were talking about rappers that I hadn’t really done any tracks with or we hadn’t. Juicy JTech N9neGangsta Boo reached out. There’s a lot of people who know who I am and have said my name and we talk. But I don’t really know. I haven’t really worked with anyone big.

Which rappers have you looked to for inspiration?

Lauryn HillMissy Elliott. Look at them. They really didn’t have to do what everyone else was doing. They got to do what they wanted to do, and come in the game, leave and come back and do whatever they want. They weren’t necessarily worried that much about what people thought of them. It was more of contributing to music. And it ended up being something that was epic. Female in the rap game, being the highest-selling, obviously now until Nicki Minaj. Pop-selling. The stuff that they really represented. Missy Elliott was really writing music and putting it out there. Even if she didn’t rap it she was writing for people and that’s perfect. Lauryn Hill was talking about, ‘”Accept yourself, don’t be a hard rock when you truly are a gem.” Stuff like that made me keep my mind focused. There are a lot of times when you’re an independent rapper when people go, “You have to do this. You have to sell. You have to do this because that’s what’s going to sell.” Listening to that made me feel like, “Well maybe I don’t.” Maybe I can still be myself and not sell myself short, and still maybe make it one day.

You’re a one woman show and now you’re signed to a major label. How does that feel?

It’s validating. It doesn’t necessarily mean I made it or I’ve succeeded because there’s a lot of work involved and I know that. I at least feel it validates me in my mom’s eyes: “Maybe she is doing something.” I think at the end of the day when you’re looking for success you’re really trying to make your parents feel like they didn’t mess up. It validated me in front of my mom, so that was really cool. I got to fly her out to New York and do the whole thing so I was really happy.

Check out the rest of the interview here.

Feed Me Your Thoughts

