Nicki Minaj Covers Complex Magazine in Celebration of Complex 10th Anniversary

Nicki Minaj is featured on the cover of Complex’s 10th Anniversary issue, which hits newsstands on April 3.  During the interview conducted by Miss Info, Nicki discusses her upcoming release, Pink Friday: Roman Reloaded, the building of her brand, and her short-term and long-term goals.  Check out excerpts of the interview below.

On Pink Friday: Roman Reloaded and building her brand: 

“My goal right now is still to put out Pink Friday: Roman Reloaded, sell five million copies eventually, and tour every country in the world,” she said. “People assume that I am not the brains behind this operation, and they don’t give me my credit. I could give two fucks about credit. I just want you to leave me the fuck alone. Let me do me…all artists should want to learn the business as they go along. If you’re in this shit, talking about how you just want to be an artist, you’re fucking stupid. It makes me cringe.

I didn’t know who I was as an artist. I knew who I was as a person. My morals and everything, they’re still the same. And then I took it upon myself to create this artist, Nicki Minaj. I wanted to do what a label cannot do. Now, labels are going to think they can re-create this. [Laughs.] But they can’t.”

On her long-term goal of marriage:

“In 2022, I’ll definitely be married and I’ll definitely have my two children,” she said. “I really need a boy in my life. A baby boy. Because…I’m so attached to my little brother and I felt like that was my real son. And boys, they’re just so, I don’t know…my heart just melts when I see them.”

On competition with other female rappers/MCs:

“When I first got in, doing freestyles and mixtapes, I did a song called “Still I Rise.” I was talking about how so many women were pulling me down and ripping me apart. I said, “Every time a door opens for me/That means you just got a better opportunity to do you/Better understand these labels look at numbers and statistics/If I win, you win, it’s just logistics.”

So in order for my theory to be proven right, I have to open doors for women. The up-and-coming females who wanted to get in—when you guys are coming out and dissing me, and all that negativity….They saw me as a threat instead of seeing me as “she’s going to open the door for us.” I never came into what I’m doing dissing anyone. I gave everyone their props and it’s unfortunate that people felt intimidated and attacked me. Then it became a ripple effect. But now it’s all love. My music is a way for me to have fun. Sometimes I’ll say things and I’ll laugh. But it’s all love. I’m in a great place and I just wish everybody the best.”

On having the final say:

“People assume that I am not the brains behind this operation, and they don’t give me my credit. I could give two fucks about credit. I just want you to leave me the fuck alone. Let me do me. Don’t tell me how to pose; I know how to pose. When I’m recording, I just have to go in and do it, you know? Even my engineer thinks I’m crazy because I’ll hear something different on a track, and he’ll insist, “No, no, nothing was moved.” [But I tell him] “Tony, something was moved.” And later, sure enough, “You were right, there was a two-second delay here.”

I can’t lie–I’m loving these photos.  Head over to Complex to read the interview in its entirety.

[Via Complex]

Feed Me Your Thoughts

