Azealia Banks Reacts to Iggy Azalea’s XXL Freshman Class 2012 Inclusion

It looks as though some folks are dismayed that XXL chose Iggy Azalea has the first female to be included in one of their “freshman” classes.

Ms. Azealia Banks took to Twitter yesterday to express her feelings about Iggy’s feature.  This is what she had to say:

“Iggy Azalea on the XXL freshman list is all wrong. How can you endorse a a white woman who called herself a “Runaway slave master”? Whatever.

Sorry guys. But I’m pro black girl.

I’m not anti white girl, but I’m also not here for any1 outside of my culture trying to trivialize very serious aspects of it.

In any capacity. *kanye shrug*

If u hate my music now because of how I feel about this then I guess it’s my loss. I’ll take that loss.”

Azelia’s runaway slave master refers to a line from Iggy Azalea’s “D.R.U.G.S.” in which she says, “When the relay starts/I’m a runaway slave…[the ellipsis indicates a long pause, now often employed by Nicki Minaj, Drake, etc.] master.”  So of course, they may lead many folks to wonder.  Iggy Azalea hit back via Twitter:

“Don’t bother including my @ name in any of ur salty thoughts either cause… I’m #blockinthatass today!!!!

First female freshman. Ever. Period. Thanks world!

I used to stick XXL on my bedroom door, now I’m on the cover. Life is great.”

I hope this doesn’t get messy.  Like I’ve said before and what Nitty Scott recently stated in her Beyond Race Magazine feature, artists doesn’t necessarily have to be huge fans of each other’s music, but there is a certain level of respect that artists should show to another one, especially in this case since both Azealia Banks and Iggy Azalea have been getting a piece of the limelight lately.

What do you think about all of this?

2 thoughts on “Azealia Banks Reacts to Iggy Azalea’s XXL Freshman Class 2012 Inclusion

  1. Pingback: Azealia Wants to Work with Nicki Minaj? | thefemmemc

  2. Pingback: Iggy Azalea Apologizes for “Runaway Slave Master” Line « thefemmemc

Feed Me Your Thoughts

