Nicki Minaj Discusses Accusations of Selling Out

As discussed last week, Peter Rosenberg from Hot 97, along with others, have accused Nicki Minaj of being a sellout, citing the new music that she has released this year.  Of course, Nicki Minaj had something to say about it.

After premiering her single, “Roman Reloaded,” on Funkmaster Flex’s show on Hot 97, she went on to discuss that while she may be expanding her brand by creating pop music, she has no plans to stop making rap music:

“Maybe it would be a problem if I couldn’t deliver records like ‘Roman Reloaded,’ but I can. I write my own lyrics. Once again, I write my own lyrics. So it’s never a problem. Whatever I feel, I can write, I can create it. So I’m good. I think people sometimes get blown away by the magnitude of the pop stuff, because the pop stuff, it reaches everywhere and then I feel like my Hip Hop fans or Hip Hop culture starts getting a little bit afraid that I’m going to leave. But this is who I am. I’m not going to change – I’m just adding on to my brand. And if you don’t understand that, then it’s probably why you don’t travel and you don’t see the world and I probably can’t even have a conversation with you anymore.”

To hear the interview in its entirety, head over to InFlexWeTrust.

Image: Rap-Up

2 thoughts on “Nicki Minaj Discusses Accusations of Selling Out

  1. Hello Thefemmemc,
    Speaking of which, So at school we were discussing that. My friend said Young Money is Lil’ Wayne and stuff. I thought Young Money is all of the people singing Bedrock FEATURING Lil’ Wayne. What is it? Lmfao
    Keep up the posts!

    • Hi Mr. Music,

      Thanks for the encouragement! I greatly appreciate it. The question of Nicki Minaj selling out has definitely been a hot topic lately, especially given the songs that she has dropped this year. To me, I would assume that anyone that is signed to Young Money is a Young Money member, which would include more people than those featured on “Bedrock,” except Lloyd (I don’t believe he is signed to Young Money.)

      Coconellnell

Feed Me Your Thoughts

